Softnet Systems, Inc. Speech Recognition Specialists

Release 8 Hints

Moving a User

Exporting/Importing a User

In many cases, "user files" can be moved to another system using the built-in Export/Import User functions. (Note there are also functions to Export/Import Vocabularies and to Export/Import Word lists, try not to confuse these related functions.)

To Export (save) a user file on one system, within Naturally Speaking go to NaturallySpeaking (if using the Tray-icon only mode, right-click on the tray icon and choose File), then Manage Users, then highlight the user you wish to export. Then click the Advanced button and select Export. Specify where to store the files.

This is a large enough set of files (often over 100MB) that they typically must be stored on a CD, USB disk drive (a.k.a. "memory stick"), or a network drive.

On the "new" system, open NaturallySpeaking (it is OK to cancel out of establishing a new user) then go to NaturallySpeaking, Manage Users, then click the Advanced button. Select Import and navigate to the location of your files.

Once complete, your new user must be Opened via NaturallySpeaking, Open User. The Audio Setup Wizard normally opens the first time you use such a user, go through its steps as it prompts you.

Establishing a 2nd User

There are several methods for establishing a second instance of your user files. This method is suggested when you are setting up NaturallySpeaking on a 2nd machine such as a home machine when an office machine is already established.

  • Create a new user. In NaturallySpeaking, go to Tools, Open/Manage Users, choose "New". You will have an opportunity to choose the base vocabulary (General English, Medical, etc.).

    If you are planning to copy user files from another system, you must choose the same base vocabulary as used on that other system.

  • Perform Audio Setup and General Training per the prompts.
  • Establish Commands using macros from your first user.

    If you only have macros created with the Command Browser, then you can copy the single file:
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ScanSoft\NaturallySpeaking8\Users\<your first user name>\current\MyCmds.dat


    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ScanSoft\NaturallySpeaking8\Users\<your 2nd user name>\current\MyCmds.dat

    If you have updated software from Releases 6 or 7 the directory names may be different.

  • If you have used "dvc" files (and you should know if you have done this) then those dvc files need to be copied as well. These files may either be in the Data directory or the Users directory depending upon your installation. Find the corresponding directory and copy these files.
  • Establish your vocabulary using one of several methods. The first is suggested when there is a question about the validity of the original vocabulary or if you change the base vocabulary type, such as changing from the Medical to the Cardiology language model. The second is for when you are making an almost-identical setup.
    1. Take Custom Words + Vocabulary Builder

      On the 1st user, go to Words, then Export. Choose a file, and "export" your custom words. After exporting the custom words, take the time to scan and edit the list of custom words produced with this "export." Use a plain text editor such as NotePad for this task. Delete any words that should not appear. Unfortunately, Release 6 has been prone to add capitalized forms of words and collect other mistakes. e.g. if "She" is in the list, delete the single line with that word.

      Take this file to the 2nd user, go to Words, then Import.

      Then run Vocabulary Builder by going to C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\NaturallySpeaking\Programs and then executing vocbldr.exe and following the prompts. Optionally use the vocabulary building tools that you can access via the Accuracy Center. Add the Custom Words first as your word lists, then do the document analysis.

    2. Export/Import Vocabulary

      On the first user, go to Open/Manage Vocabularies, select a vocabulary, then select Export. Save these files on a CD-RW, server, or other device that you can access using the system with the 2nd user. You will need a device able to store 40MB or more for this process if the systems are not networked.

      Then, on the 2nd user, go to Open/Manage Vocabularies, select IMPORT, and import this vocabulary.

  • Move options

    Unfortunately, there is no clean way to move all of your options. Most can be "seen" in the options.ini file in the "current" directory. But some of the options may be different on a different system. HotKeys, accuracy vs. speed, startup options, and font size of the DragonPad are commonly changed and may deserve your attention.

  • Word macros, AutoText, Templates, etc.

    While not strictly part of the setup for Dragon NaturallySpeaking, users who are using Word macros may need to copy them from one system to another. AutoText entries and Word templates often need to be moved to complete the setup of your system.

    Most Word templates will be found in the same directory. That directory can be saved and the files copied. If being used by a 2nd person, then some templates might need to change at this time to reflect a different user, address, etc.

  • Brute Force Moving Files

    Particularly for Preferred Edition users, moving the underlying files associated with a user is sometimes the easiest approach. Move the entire directory C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\ScanSoft\NaturallySpeaking8\Users
    \<desired_user_name> from one system to another. This does not handle Word macros, templates, etc. but does handle NaturallySpeaking. After such a move, the Audio Setup Wizard often needs to run on the new system before dictation can occur.


Hints, Recommendations

New to Speech Recognition
User Profiles
Dragon NaturallySpeaking Hints


Nuance Dragon Medical Practice Edition
Dragon NaturallySpeaking
Upgrades for Dragon NaturallySpeaking
Books, Videos
Clearance Items
Ordering Options


Training, Consulting
Sales and Support


Ordering Options

Home » Hints » Release 8 Hints » Moving a User